Preply alternatives for IELTS Speaking in 2026
Quick answer
Preply connects learners with human tutors for live 1-on-1 lessons, and its own listings never mention IELTS or band scores - its site explicitly contrasts itself with gamified apps and AI language tutors. A tutor platform and an exam-scoring tool answer different questions, and plenty of candidates use both. If what you want is a band you can watch move across Speaking and Writing, the six alternatives below are ordered by how many IELTS papers each product's own pages claim to score.
On this page
Preply describes itself as “much more than a language learning app” - a platform for booking live 1-on-1 lessons with human tutors, which its site deliberately sets against gamified apps and AI language tutors. Nowhere in its App Store listing, its Play listing or its own app page does the word IELTS appear. That is not a gap in the product; it is a different product. A tutor platform and an examiner-style scoring tool answer different questions, and the useful comparison is which one you are currently missing.
We make IELTS Mentor AI, one of the apps discussed here. We’ve tried to be fair; check each app’s current listing before you decide.
Key takeaways
- Preply’s own pages describe human-led 1-on-1 lessons, with AI tools framed as a supplement; IELTS and band scoring are not mentioned.
- The usual reason to look elsewhere is measurement: a band you can track, across more than one paper, without booking anything.
- Coverage varies sharply - some products here score Speaking only, some add Writing, two add Reading, and only one describes Listening.
- This is not a tested ranking. The order follows what each product’s own pages claimed on 18 September 2026.
What Preply is for
Its own line is “Expert tutors for 1-on-1 lessons and personalized practice,” and its site references some AI-powered practice tools of its own as a supplement to lessons rather than a replacement. The audience is large on both stores: on the US App Store on 18 September 2026, Preply showed 44,306 ratings averaging 4.84, and its Google Play listing, “Preply: Language lessons”, showed 4.5 from 63.3K reviews.
What its listings do not describe is anything exam-shaped: no IELTS band, no Fluency and Coherence or Lexical Resource, no cue-card timing. Whether Preply runs a dedicated IELTS-prep tutor category is not something we could verify from the copy we checked - individual tutors may well advertise it on their own profiles.
Who looks for an alternative, and why
The need behind this search is usually measurement, not dissatisfaction.
A number that moves. Lessons improve your English; they do not hand you a band every week. Candidates six weeks from a test date want a repeatable measure, even an approximate one, because that is what tells them whether to keep doing what they are doing.
More than one paper. Speaking rarely fails alone. A candidate who needs 7.0 overall is often carrying Writing as the weaker paper, and a tutor booked for conversation is not marking essays between sessions.
Practice that needs no scheduling. Every booked lesson has to fit two calendars; the days in between are where most of the speaking has to happen.
How we put this list together
Every claim below comes from the product’s own store listing or website, read on 18 September 2026 - not from review sites or “best app” roundups. We have not tested these products against each other, so nothing here is a quality ranking. The order reflects how many IELTS papers each product’s own pages claim to score, and how specific that claim is. We make one of the products listed, and it is described with the same restraint as the rest.
Six alternatives, ordered by how much of IELTS each claims to score
British Council IELTS Ready
The broadest claim here, and the only one attached to an organisation that delivers the test. Its own page describes “Scored practice tests, personalised AI feedback, courses and expert support,” with a full mock test returning Reading, Listening, Writing and Speaking scores at its higher tier, and “IELTS Coach online or in-person courses in our teaching centres.”
Two honest limits. It is a web platform, not a mobile app - no App Store or Play listing exists under that name, and British Council’s own mobile apps are general English-learning tools. And its page does not describe the Speaking test’s internal Part 1-2-3 structure, or say whether the feedback and expert support involve any human review.
Speechful
Three papers, described module by module: “Speak with an AI IELTS examiner and get your band score in minutes,” across Parts 1, 2 and 3 under timed, exam-like conditions; a Writing grader for Task 1 and Task 2; and “a timed IELTS reading practice test” returning an estimated band. Its Speaking page names Fluency, Coherence, Lexical Resource, Grammatical Range and Pronunciation, and describes a mini-exercise built from your own vocabulary mistakes.
Web-only - no App Store or Google Play listing found under any search variant on 18 September 2026 - and its pages explicitly contrast it with human tutors.
Stimuler
Three papers too, and the only one in this group listed on both mobile stores. Its App Store description promises “Industry-first Live Video Mock Tests that mirror the real IELTS experience,” and its site states that “Stimuler covers Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 with topic-specific practice sessions,” naming fluency, lexical resource, grammatical range and pronunciation. Its IELTS page is titled for Speaking, Writing and Reading; no Listening module is claimed. One practical note: stimuler.com is a parked domain redirecting to a broker - the real site is stimuler.tech.
SmallTalk2Me
Two papers, through two separate simulators: an “AI Simulator for IELTS Speaking Parts 1, 2, and 3 with instant grading,” a distinct IELTS Writing simulator, and a CEFR level test that gives a starting point independent of IELTS - useful if what you want is to watch a level move over months. Its IELTS page carries all four official criterion terms, and promises that “You’ll get clear feedback on what you did well and exactly what to improve.”
Browser-based: no App Store or Google Play listing found, and no store badges on its own site.
IELTS Prep - TalkFace
Two papers, in one mobile app: “your AI-powered IELTS Speaking & Writing coach,” an “IELTS Writing Tutor: Improve your writing skills with expert feedback and band score on IELTS Essays,” and an “IELTS Practice Prep Test” simulating both exams with instant scoring. A closing line in the same listing claims general Speaking, Listening, Reading and Writing skill-building, but the itemised features describe only Speaking and Writing tools. On the US App Store on 18 September 2026 it showed 34 ratings averaging 4.56 - a very small sample next to the others here.
Our own app
Two papers as well, and narrower than everything above by design. A Speaking answer is scored on the four public criteria and reported as a band range, strict examiner to lenient, rather than one number; Writing Task 1 and Task 2 are marked on their own four criteria. Each mistake is explained, recurring mistakes are tracked with their band impact, and the mock runs Parts 1 to 3 on exam timing, on iOS and Android. No Listening or Reading, and no human tutor.
How they compare
| Product | Speaking scoring claim | Writing | Reading / Listening | Human involvement | Where it runs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preply | None - IELTS and band scoring are not mentioned in its listings | Not specified in the listings checked | Not specified | Yes - live 1-on-1 human tutors, its core model | App Store and Google Play |
| British Council IELTS Ready | Scored practice tests with AI feedback; Speaking score at its full mock tier | Yes - Writing score at the same tier | Yes - Reading and Listening scores in the full mock | Not stated - its page mentions expert support without saying whether feedback is human | Web only; no app under that name |
| Speechful | AI examiner across Parts 1-3, timed, names the criteria | Yes - Task 1 and Task 2 grader | Reading yes, timed with a band estimate; no Listening module | No - site contrasts itself with tutors | Web only; no store listing found |
| Stimuler | AI mock tests across Parts 1-3, naming fluency, lexical resource, grammatical range, pronunciation | Yes, per its site | Reading yes, per its site; Listening not claimed | No - an AI coach, per its site | App Store and Google Play |
| SmallTalk2Me | AI simulator for Parts 1-3 with instant grading, four criteria named | Yes - a separate Writing simulator | Reading no; general listening practice, not confirmed IELTS-format | No - its FAQ frames the product as AI-only | Web only; no store listing found |
| IELTS Prep - TalkFace | AI Speaking coach with mock tests and band-level feedback | Yes - essay feedback with a band score | General claim only; no itemised IELTS module described | No | App Store |
| Our app | Four public criteria, reported as a strict-to-lenient band range | Yes - Task 1 and Task 2, four criteria | No - does not cover Listening or Reading | No | App Store and Google Play |
When to stay with Preply
Stay when what you need is teaching rather than marking. A tutor who has worked with you for a month can tell you that your Part 3 answers collapse whenever you are asked to speculate, then spend forty minutes building that one habit - which no listing on this page claims to do. Stay, too, if speaking to a human is the part you find hard: a booked lesson rehearses the social pressure of the exam room in a way an app cannot.
The pairing most candidates land on is simple. Keep the lessons for teaching; add one scored measure you can repeat between them. If you are not sure which paper is holding the overall band down, a short self-assessment is a faster starting point than another booked hour.
Frequently asked questions
Does Preply have IELTS tutors?
Its own App Store, Google Play and app pages do not say. They describe expert tutors for 1-on-1 lessons and personalised practice, without naming IELTS, the four criteria or the Speaking test's parts. We could not verify from those listings whether Preply runs an IELTS-prep tutor category, so ask before booking on that basis.
Can an app replace a Preply tutor for IELTS Speaking?
For the measuring half, often yes - several products here describe scoring a Speaking answer against IELTS criteria and returning a band. For the teaching half, less so. A tutor can hear a pattern in your English and redesign the next hour around it, which none of these listings claim to do.
Which alternative covers Writing as well as Speaking?
Speechful, Stimuler, SmallTalk2Me, IELTS Prep - TalkFace and our own app all describe Writing feedback in their own pages. Speechful and Stimuler go further and describe Reading practice too; none of the six describes an IELTS Listening module, except British Council's IELTS Ready at its full mock-test tier.
Is there an IELTS practice option from the organisations behind the test?
British Council's IELTS Ready is the closest on this list. It is a web platform rather than an app, described on its own pages as scored practice tests, personalised AI feedback, courses and expert support. Its pages do not describe the Speaking test's internal Part 1-2-3 structure, and do not state whether any feedback is human.
Preply or italki for IELTS Speaking?
Neither one's own listings mention IELTS, band scoring or the Parts 1-3 format - both are general language marketplaces where exam prep is something an individual teacher may offer. Our italki alternatives guide covers the same trade-off from the other side.