The best IELTS Speaking apps for iPhone in 2026
Quick answer
Fifteen of the products people recommend for IELTS Speaking had an App Store listing we could check on 18 September 2026. Five of them are built around IELTS — IELTSpeaking, IELTS Prep - TalkFace, our own app, Stimuler and FixoLang — and the rest are general speaking apps, tutor marketplaces or an official test companion. Several widely recommended names have no iPhone app at all: SmallTalk2Me, Speechful, Sprechify, Engnovate and British Council's IELTS Ready run only in a browser, and Cathoven, SpeakPrac and TalkDrill are Android and web only.
On this page
We make IELTS Mentor AI, one of the apps discussed here. We’ve tried to be fair; check each app’s own App Store listing before you decide.
If you have an iPhone, a good half of the tools recommended for IELTS Speaking are unavailable to you as apps — and almost no roundup says so. This page lists only products with an App Store listing we could read on 18 September 2026, describes each from its own listing, and then names the well-known tools with no iPhone app at all.
Key takeaways
- Fifteen products here have an App Store listing; five of them are built around IELTS.
- SmallTalk2Me, Speechful, Sprechify, Engnovate and British Council’s IELTS Ready have no App Store listing — they are browser products.
- Cathoven, SpeakPrac and TalkDrill are Android and web only, so three of the most IELTS-specific speaking tools are not on iPhone.
- TestGlider is on the App Store, but its listing describes TOEFL preparation and never mentions IELTS.
How we checked
Every fact here comes from the product’s own App Store listing or website, read on 18 September 2026 — no review sites, no other roundups, no hands-on testing. The order reflects only how much of what a candidate needs each listing itself claims to do, not quality. Where two products’ stated scopes sit equally close, we put ours lower rather than higher: we can’t referee our own list.
The iPhone options, ordered by fit
1. IELTSpeaking. The narrowest fit here: its listing describes “full IELTS Speaking mock tests, 1-on-1 AI examiner feedback, and precise band scoring,” with Parts 1, 2 and 3 practised separately, and a score report after each mock evaluating “grammar, fluency, vocabulary, and pronunciation” — its own wording for the four criteria. Writing is not mentioned.
2. IELTS Prep - TalkFace. From the same developer as IELTSpeaking. Its listing describes an “AI-powered IELTS Speaking & Writing coach” with “realistic mock tests and instant scoring and feedback” for both papers, and band scores on essays. It does not name the four criteria, and its closing claim about Listening and Reading is not backed by any itemised module. It had 34 ratings on the US App Store on 18 September 2026, a far smaller sample than most apps here.
3. Our app. A Speaking answer is scored on all four public criteria and reported as a range from a strict examiner setting to a lenient one; every mistake is explained rather than just marked; the mistakes that keep recurring are tracked with their band impact; and a full Parts 1-3 mock runs at exam timing. Writing Task 1 and Task 2 are marked separately. It does not cover Listening or Reading.
4. Stimuler. Its IELTS page names fluency, lexical resource, grammatical range and pronunciation, and its FAQ describes Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 coverage with AI scoring; the App Store listing promises tailored tips after every session and “Speech Insights” beyond a raw score. Its site covers Writing and Reading as well. Note that its real site is stimuler.tech, not stimuler.com, which is a parked domain.
5. FixoLang. Its listing describes “real-time assessment” of grammar, sentence structure, coherence and IELTS vocabulary usage across a library of speaking topics — not the four official criterion names — plus access to EngVarta’s human mentors for pronunciation and mother-tongue influence. Whether there is one continuous Part 1-2-3 mock is not stated.
6. TestGlider. On the App Store, but read the listing first. It describes TOEFL preparation only — mock tests, section practice, AI corrections — and never mentions IELTS. The IELTS material, including a Band Overview named after the four official criteria, exists only on testglider.com. Its App Store listing showed no ratings at all on 18 September 2026.
7. IELTS by IDP. From an IELTS co-owner, and a companion rather than a scorer: a preparation checklist, an English self-assessment, booking and results, and partner-delivered courses, with auto-marked sample Listening and Reading tests through an India-only partnership. No AI-scored Speaking or Writing feedback. It was not on the US or GB App Store on the day we checked; we read the Australian and Indian listings instead.
General speaking apps that are not IELTS-scored
8. ELSA Speak. A general AI pronunciation and speaking coach whose exam practice covers “IELTS, TOEFL, TOEIC, EIKEN, CEFR, and more” together rather than IELTS alone, with feedback on pace, hesitation and grammar rather than the four IELTS criteria. Its 112,799 ratings on the US App Store on 18 September 2026 are the largest sample here — of general satisfaction, not IELTS outcomes.
9. Speak. An AI speaking app across six languages built around scripted lesson phrases, with analysis of “pronunciation, intonation, and fluency.” IELTS, band scoring and a timed mock appear nowhere in its listing.
10. Praktika. “Ultra-realistic AI Avatars” for conversation across twelve languages, with “academic prep (IELTS, TOEFL)” as one topic inside more than a thousand lessons. No band scoring or exam-part structure.
11. Talkpal. General AI conversation across “130+ languages,” with chat, roleplay and debate modes. Its listing does not mention IELTS.
12. Duolingo. Short lessons across 40-plus languages covering speaking, reading, listening and writing, plus Chess, Math and Music courses. IELTS appears nowhere in its listings or homepage.
Human tutors rather than an AI examiner
13. Cambly. Live video conversation with human English speakers, “anytime, anywhere, any level.” No IELTS, no band scoring, no AI examiner — which is the point, if a real person is what you want.
14. italki. A marketplace for booking live lessons with human teachers in 150-plus languages. IELTS is not mentioned in its listings, so exam-specific work depends on the teacher you book.
15. Preply. The same shape, with its own site contrasting itself with gamified apps and AI tutors while referencing AI practice tools as a supplement. Its listings never mention IELTS or the four criteria.
How they compare
Every cell reports what the app’s own listing or website says, as read on 18 September 2026. “Not stated” means the material doesn’t say, not that the feature is absent.
| App | What its App Store listing describes | Four criteria claimed? | Full Parts 1-3 mock? | Explains individual mistakes? | Other skills covered |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IELTSpeaking | IELTS Speaking mocks with AI examiner feedback | Yes, in its own terms | Yes; parts also separately | Not stated — per-criterion report | None stated |
| IELTS Prep - TalkFace | An IELTS Speaking and Writing coach | Band scores; criteria not named | Mocks described; parts not itemised | Not stated | Writing; a general four-skill claim |
| Our app | An IELTS Speaking and Writing scorer | Yes, as a strict-to-lenient range | Yes, at exam timing | Yes — each one, recurring ones with band impact | Writing Tasks 1 and 2 only |
| Stimuler | An AI English fluency app with IELTS mocks | Yes, on its site | Yes | Yes — tips and “Speech Insights” | Writing and Reading, per its site |
| FixoLang | An AI IELTS speaking assistant plus human mentors | No — its own four dimensions | Not stated — a topic library | Not stated — category-level only | None stated |
| TestGlider | TOEFL preparation only; no IELTS mention | Yes on its website only | Yes on its website only | Not stated | Reading, Listening, Writing (TOEFL, in-app) |
| IELTS by IDP | Preparation checklist, booking and results | No | No | Not stated | Sample Listening/Reading via a partner, India-only |
| ELSA Speak | A general pronunciation and speaking coach | No | No | No — general pronunciation feedback | None stated |
| Speak | AI speaking practice in six languages | No — no IELTS mention | No | No | None stated |
| Praktika | AI avatar conversation, 12 languages | No | No | Not stated | None stated |
| Talkpal | AI conversation, 130+ languages | No — no IELTS mention | No | Not stated | A general four-skill claim |
| Duolingo | General lessons in 40+ languages | No — no IELTS mention | No | No | General speaking, reading, listening, writing |
| Cambly | Live video lessons with human speakers | No — no IELTS mention | No | No — a person, not analysis | None stated |
| italki | Booking human teachers in 150+ languages | No — no IELTS mention | No | No — a person, not analysis | None stated |
| Preply | Booking 1-on-1 lessons with human tutors | No — no IELTS mention | No | No — a person, not analysis | None stated |
What has no iPhone app at all
This is the part most roundups skip, so here it is plainly. On 18 September 2026:
- SmallTalk2Me, Speechful, Sprechify and Engnovate had no App Store listing under any search variant we tried, and their own sites carry no store badges. All four run in a browser.
- British Council’s IELTS Ready is a web platform; no App Store app of that name exists. British Council’s own iPhone apps are general English tools, and the third-party app IELTS Flex, which claims to reuse IELTS Ready content, is published by Guided e-Learning rather than by British Council.
- Cathoven, SpeakPrac and TalkDrill are Android and web only. Cathoven’s download page lists iOS as “Soon”; SpeakPrac’s site offers an Android download and nothing else; no iPhone listing for TalkDrill was found.
None of this makes them unusable on an iPhone — Safari opens all of them. It only means that if you want something installed on your home screen, those eight are out.
Choosing between what is left
If you want an IELTS Speaking mock scored and nothing else, IELTSpeaking’s whole stated scope is that. If you want Speaking and Writing marked in one place, TalkFace, Stimuler and ours all describe doing so, with different amounts of detail about how. If you want a person rather than an AI, Cambly, italki and Preply are the marketplaces, and FixoLang builds human mentors into an otherwise AI product.
Before installing anything, it helps to know where you stand: a short self-assessment runs in the browser in minutes, and a full Speaking mock test at exam timing gives you something concrete to compare any app’s verdict against.
Frequently asked questions
Which IELTS Speaking apps are actually on the iPhone App Store?
On 18 September 2026 we could check App Store listings for IELTSpeaking, IELTS Prep - TalkFace, our own app, Stimuler, FixoLang, TestGlider, IELTS by IDP, ELSA Speak, Speak, Praktika, Talkpal, Duolingo, Cambly, italki and Preply. Only the first five describe IELTS Speaking practice as their purpose.
Why can't I find some recommended IELTS Speaking tools on the App Store?
Because several of them never shipped an iPhone app. SmallTalk2Me, Speechful, Sprechify, Engnovate and British Council's IELTS Ready are browser products with no store listing found on either platform, and Cathoven, SpeakPrac and TalkDrill are Android and web only. They work on an iPhone through Safari; they are just not installable apps.
Does the British Council have an IELTS app for iPhone?
Not one called IELTS Ready. On 18 September 2026 no App Store app of that name existed; IELTS Ready is a web platform. British Council does publish iPhone apps, but they are general English-learning tools rather than IELTS-specific ones. An app called IELTS Flex claims to reuse IELTS Ready content, but it is published by a separate company, Guided e-Learning, not by British Council.
Do any iPhone apps give you an IELTS Speaking band score?
Several describe doing so. IELTSpeaking describes precise band scoring across Parts 1-3, ours reports a range from a strict examiner setting to a lenient one, and Stimuler names the four criteria on its own site. Treat any single number as an estimate, since two real examiners can mark the same answer half a band apart.
Is ELSA Speak enough for IELTS Speaking on its own?
Its own listing suggests not, if a band is what you need. ELSA describes a general AI pronunciation and speaking coach whose exam practice spans IELTS, TOEFL, TOEIC, EIKEN and CEFR together, and it does not describe scoring against the four named IELTS criteria or running a Parts 1-3 mock.